Oh dear me no Microsoft, no, no, no!!

Now up till the past couple of weeks I’ve been a staunch supporter of the Microsoft Band – I’m on version 2 and apart from the 3 weeks when I had to return it because it stopped working I’ve loved the combination of tracking movement and alerting. But now I feel something has changed….

It all started because I’ve been using Spotify a bit more than usual and that plus my flaky home broadband (thanks BT!) I’ve had to resort to 2G/3G/4G – depends where I am! Anyway I got a text from BT (yep them again!) saying I’d used over 80% of my monthly limit – so I had a look and it transpires I’ve used almost 500 mb of “background” data with Spotify. So I switched if off.

Well now it seems my new MS Band 2 isn’t recognised by my phone….and that reminded me of another occasion where I’d switched off data and it stopped updating my health account.

broken_band
OK I know this is an image of the first version of the band – my band btw which fell apart – and which MS said as it was the join between the clasp and the band it was outside of their guarantee!!
Maybe unless the MSBand can be connected to the internet it (as well as not updating, which is totally understandable) it doesn’t even connect to your phone. Even though background data is turned off I can still get my emails!! Well I kinda hope that’s the problem – if not it means the band is buggered again…and if that’s the case I might just ask for my money back!!

A little digging into the data settings shows the following:

Microsoft Health data usage:

Foregound 1.08MB
Background 71.5MB

Well there you go people QED? – it’s either Spotify or MSBand2! Well given that I also wear a Mi2 Band – and believe me if they get it right with their new device (hopefully not the butt ugly thing the CEO was wearing recently) which is purported to have a screen as well as all the other stuff it already does, then Microsoft – you’re history!!

I’m just going to try a re-boot – of both devices….

Yep as I thought – the same situation. My phone doesn’t link with the MS Band! But one final thing before I get onto the MS support…I’ll switch back on background data and see if it connects – ah, ok it doesn’t – so the bluetooth part isn’t working!

Well that’s fine and dandy – I’ve only had the device back for about a week or so and already it’s playing up. Not impressed at all.

Over to Microsoft support – AGAIN!!

OK as I’d already got various emails from MS support updating me on my device’s progress I thought I’d reply to one….well dear readers their response arrived fairly promptly but it’s BIG FAIL on several parts.

Response to your Email
Actions
Microsoft Support (support@status.xbox.com) Add to contacts 10:52
To: xxxxxx.xxxx.com
support@status.xbox.com
From: Microsoft Support (support@status.xbox.com) Microsoft SmartScreen classified this message as junk.
Sent: 09 May 2016 10:52:39
To: xxxxxx.xxxx.com
Microsoft SmartScreen marked this message as junk and we’ll delete it after ten days.
Wait, it’s safe!|I’m not sure. Let me check
This e-mail address is not monitored. If you need to contact us, our contact information is available online at http://www.xbox.com/support/contact.

Thank you,

The Xbox Support Team

  1. So for starters it’s an email which isn’t monitored – so to use that for communication is shockingly bad CRM!
  2. Secondly it was highlighted by their own software as Spam and ended up in my junk folder.
  3. Thirdly it’s from the XBOX team – when did I ever contact them? Answer never!!

C’mon guys – get a grip!!

Leave a Reply

