Coogan of London’s customer service team – take a bow!

Normally you’ll find me on here moaning about another example of poor customer service – but not this time!

Coogan of London – take a bow!

I purchased a pair of size 10(EU44) black leather driving shoes on eBay back on 23rd October. The shoes arrived as promised around the 28th/29th. Unfortunately when I tried them on they were way too small – both in terms of the length and also I fear width-wise as well. Obviously designed for the young trendies with their narrow footprints!!

Over this past weekend, I’d been away for a few days visiting family, I tried them again – definitely too small for me! so I went online to request a return authorisation code. Unfortunately as I’d bought them via eBay I didn’t have an order number – I only had the eBay item number. Also as I’d paid via paypal using a credite card neither they nor eBay were going to help me sort the problem out so I sent Coogan and co an email yesterday afternoon.

I received a nice email this morning from them:

Dear Mr West

Thank you for your email. I’m sorry to hear that the shoes have come up too small
for you.

We’ll be happy to send you out a free pair of shoes in a size 45/10.5 if you would
like to try the next size up, and if you choose to do this then there would be no
need for you to send the first pair back to us.

However if you would prefer to just get a refund then please let me know and I will
organise this for you.

Please let me know how you would like to proceed. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Sophie
Web Sales

http://www.cooganlondon.com

Telephone: (020) 8945 5745 (Mon-Fri 9.30am to 5.30pm)

Well as I said I’d already tried them on a couple of times and was pretty sure the design was such that I’d probably need a size 13 to get my plates of meat in so I said no thank you and could I have a return authorisation code please.

Within a few minutes I got an email saying my paypal transaction had been refunded and then this fantastic reply:

Dear Mr West

Thank you for getting back to me so quickly.

I have issued you refund of £36 back to your PayPal account. To save you the hassle
of sending the shoes back to us, you can just keep them and dispose of them as you
see fit – maybe as a gift or to charity.

I’m really sorry that it didn’t work out this time but thank you for trying us.

Kind regards

Sophie
Web Sales

Wow!

Ok these might have been an end of line or the last items left in stock, whatever the reason the response was totally unexpected. I will as Sophie suggests be donating them to charity – along with a note to make sure that the prospective purchaser tries them on before buying!!

I may also spend some time on the Coogan London website to see if they do any shoes with wider fittings.

But one thing is definite I commend you to consider this company – clearly they understand how to treat customers properly!

Leave a Reply

