Scottish Power excels themselves (irony alert!)

donkey ass photo: ass donkey.jpg

Now as some of you may know I’ve been having a long term dialogue with Scottish Power about my electricity supply. They kept taking £150 a month from my account and then not providing me with the level of customer service a normal person would expect – this recently resulted in them refunding me almost £1,000! Part of the problem with them, is their inability to communicate effectively unless you prod them via social media!

Having sorted out the billing issue – it only took a year 😦 I then wanted to move onto the issue that I have 2 meters at my property, which precludes me from using their online service – however they still send me emails telling me to go online – doh! This morning’s telling me that my payment was overdue – overdue? I’d not heard anything about having to make a payment so no idea where they got that idea from! Also felt it was a bit rude and an attempt to push me into rapid payment!!

Anyway what I’ve set out below is this morning’s conversation – following a series of tweets starting with me – after I had responded to their message by trying to call them:

Me
@SP_EnergyPeople I have now been hanging on the phone for over 15 minutes. You want me to pay – you get it touch with me – that is all

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
I can see from your tweets that this is regarding a bill you haven’t received and you want it posted again, is this

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
correct? I can get this issued for you and I could email you a copy as well if you wanted to give me your email address?

Me
No! This is about the fact that I have 2 meters at my house, so I can’t set up an online account but you still try to get me to use the web

Me
A 2nd issue is that the first I know about a bill is when you email me to say the payment is overdue. That’s poor customer service

Me
I have also asked you previously to investigate moving me to a 1 meter system. It took over a year to get the right usage data + refund!

Me
I wonder how long it will take to get this element sorted. And don’t think that by doing this by DM won’t stop me publishing it later

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
Hi Mr Wxxx, what is the best number to contact you on to discuss the metering arrangements at your property? Regards, Sam

Me
My mobile 0xxxx xxxxxx – not my home number as when you phone, like this am, I’m usually at work!!

There now follows an interlude when a nice happy chappy from Scottish Power phones me and we have a conversation….he says he’s sorry and will work on sorting things out…

Then we’re back to Twitter again!!

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
Problem with bills not being issued and emails being issued now resolved. Account was set up for paperless comm’s, this

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
meant that your bill was posted online and not mailed to you. It also meant you were sent all comm’s by email asking you

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
to log into your account, even though the current metering prevents it. I have now turned off paperless comm’s, and all

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
future correspondence will be posted to your home address. I’ve also arranged for a bill to be sent out to you. It is

ScottishPower @SP_EnergyPeople
based on estimated reads though, so if you are able to provide your meter reads we will gladly amend the account. Sam

Me
Dear god you’d think after all the faffing around you’d at least make an effort to do something right this time. Don’t bother to send it!

Me
When I can be bothered I’ll read the meter and if you give me a name and address I’ll post it to you…

No doubt there will be a further installment – watch this space

Leave a Reply

